Springer Opera House


The Springer Opera House is a historic and producing theater located in Downtown Columbus, Georgia. First opened February 21, 1871, the theater was named the State Theatre of Georgia by Governor Jimmy Carter for its 100th anniversary season, a designation made permanent by the 1992 state legislature. The Springer has hosted legendary performers such as Edwin Booth, Ethel Barrymore, Agnes de Mille, and bandleader John Phillip Sousa. The building was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1970 and named a National Historic Landmark in 1978.

Events for Springer Opera House